top of page
  • Writer's pictureTia Hedenland

Bittersweet Hot Chocolate 15K recap

"Disclaimer: I received free entry to the Allstate Hot Chocolate 15K Minneapolis race as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!"


What started out as an amazing start to training, it ended with me in a boot and unable to run this race. Even though I am not an extreme chocolate lover, I was very excited to take part in this race. So not being able to earn that sweet medal in the end...was a little bittersweet.


Over the years I have heard so much about the Hot Chocolate series. And despite not being able to run this year. I can tell you that every positive thing that I have heard, they lived up to.


Training: Training for this race was taken a bit differently as I am currently training for a 50K in July. It ended up getting worked right into my current training, and this race was going to be used as a training run for Afton. Things started out great. But towards the middle of March I started to feel pain in my foot. And with the pain not going away, my doctor made the tough decision to place me in a boot. Ultimately I was diagnosed with sinus tarsi syndrome, and peroneal tendinitis. I would have loved to have had the boot come off before the race and been able to run it. It just didn't quite work out that way.


Expo:

The Expo was great. A lot of different vendors. Plenty of options to pick up last minute items for race day. Or stock up on sweet HC gear! I do wish that it was at a location where you didn't have to pay for parking. But the fact they did validate parking and offered a discounted rate was great. Also with the snowy weather this year, they adjusted the hours and opened it up a bit longer for those needing additional travel time/options to come earlier for packet pick-up.


Race/Post-Race:

Because I did not run the race, I cannot fully comment on the course. But what I can say though is I have ran this area of Minneapolis many times. And I know how beautiful it can be. Not flat not super hilly. But this was honestly my first time just being a spectator at a race. And I had a blast! It was so fun seeing all of the runners cross the finish line, watching friends hit their goals and just being able to share in all of the cheering runners on to make that final push. While I would have much rather ran the race. I cannot wait to show up with my cowbell at a race again! Because the weather in MN is a tad unpredictable in April. While we didn't get the snow like we did last year. It still was pretty chilly. So post-race meet-ups ended up being quick. But can you really beat receiving a large cup of sweet treats after the race no matter what the weather may be?


All in all this was a great experience. I wish that the weekend could have ended with a medal but it just wasn't meant to be this year. I hope to be back in the future and earn that sweet chocolate bar. Minneapolis is lucky to have this race right in the heart of the city and I can't wait to see it back again next year!


Happy Running!


-Tia




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page