top of page
  • Writer's pictureTia Hedenland

Good-bye 2018, Hello New Year!!

Rounding the corner to the final stretch of 2018 and reflecting back, I can honestly say this will be a year I will never forget! Did I accomplish every single goal that I set out for myself in 2018? No. But I truly did make the most out of every part of the entire year. Nothing was wasted, nothing was perfect, but every single step was worth it!


I remember writing my goals down last December and wondering if I was crazy. Could I really run a marathon? What does stepping outside of my comfort zone even mean? Certainly doesn't sound comfortable. Who is this person writing this list? Now writing down my goals for 2019, I have the exact same questions...but this time 'fear' doesn't play such a significant role. Excitement and determination have taken over. I now know that with a little(or actually a lot) hard work, I can do great things, that I can set goals and accomplish them. But I most humbly have learned from my 2018 journey, that if I fail, I can still get back up, and keep going. I will survive. Tomorrow is a new day, and that goal will be met in time. Adjust and start again.


This year was the year for racing! Stepping it up, trying some new distances and putting myself out there. 2018 put out; 4 - 5k's, 1 - 6k, 1 - 10k, 1- 14k, 1 - 10mile, 1 - MN Run Relay, my first Ragnar, 3 - Half Marathons, and most proudly - 26.2 miles in Chi Town. What a year!


Now onto 2019...Are my goals even bigger for this coming year? Why yes they are! My goals for 2019 also reflect some changes I made last year, not just as a runner but as a person in general. I learned so many things about myself during marathon training. And I am determined to bring out that person I found even more. She deserves to be here, and to keep proving to herself(and to only herself) that its OK to take on tough things. (Do not sell yourself short, you are so much stronger then you think!) While I don't have my entire year planned out just yet, here are a few of things I hope to accomplish in 2019;


Run my first 50K

Lose the blacktop a bit and hit the trails

Continue to make strength training a priority

2 (minimum) marathons - (Revel Mt. Hood and Rock-n-Roll Savannah?)

Sub 30 5k

Ragnar MN

2019 Ambassadorships: BibRavePro, Run Gum, and hopefully I hear good news from Nuun early Jan!

Get more sleep

Volunteer at more races

Cheer on a dear friend (with multiple signs and the loudest cowbell) as she runs her first marathon!


A few pretty hefty goals on the list above. But I couldn't be more excited! If I put everything I learned in 2018 and apply it in 2019, I know these goal are attainable. Bring on the New Year I am ready! #letsdothis


Happy Running & Cheers to 2019!


-Tia

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page