top of page
  • Writer's pictureTia Hedenland

SiS, you need to try this!

"Disclaimer: I received SiS GO Isotonic Energy Gels to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review, find, and write race reviews!"


I should start off with a fun fact: I am literally the pickiest eater you will ever meet. Worse then a toddler. Texture, flavor, spices .... all are key features to why I may not eat something. I honestly could eat the same thing everything day and be 100% ok with it.


So why try new products if I am so picky? For exactly that reason. As I continued to train for my 50K, finding something to help keep me going, and fueled was essential. I am always very hesitant to try new things. And there have been many times I have bought a gel/chew and once opened I couldn't even stomach the smell so it was tossed before it even left the package.


Enter SiS - Science In Sport


Again, there was a bit of hesitancy with trying this new gel, but I decided to give it a go as my Coach Kyle Kranz has raved about them and actually happened to be a fueling product we discussed a few months earlier as one I might possibly would like.


From the SiS website:

About SiS GO Isotonic Energy Gels The SiS GO Isotonic Energy Gel was the world's first isotonic gel effectively delivering an easily digestible and quick supply of carbohydrates for energy during exercise. They are designed to be consumed without water, minimizing the risk of being bloated that can sometimes occur with over-drinking. Provides you with 22 grams of carbohydrates per gel. Benefits of SiS GO Isotonic Energy Gels Depleting your carbohydrate stores during exercise is one of the major causes of fatigue. Delivering additional carbohydrates during exercise is known to improve performance, race times and delay the onset of fatigue. The Isotonic formula allows the gel to empty from the stomach quickly as no fluid needs to be drawn into your stomach to dilute the gel, providing fast energy. SiS GO Isotonic Energy Gels are highly practical and can easily be carried without the requirement for bulky bottles. Awards Winner of the Queens award for enterprise, this innovative product continues to be seen at the forefront by endurance athletes. Use during endurance sessions and events to help avoid crashing. Key Features Truly isotonic formulation - no need for water 22 grams of rapidly absorbed carbohydrates per gel Convenient easy-to-take format Contents: 11 x 60ml gels per pack Flavored Maltodextrin gel with added sweetener. Suitable For Vegans.


What did I like:


My first initial swig, was a bit rough. Mostly because I just had no idea what to really expect. But honestly, the texture, happened to be the thing I liked the most. They go down easy, and they are flavorful without being over-powering or too sweet. Lemon-Mint tasted like a dessert and refreshing. So yummy. The fact that I can take them without having to wash it down with water is awesome. With being in summer and having not only my 50K on a day where it will be pretty toasty, but a few other shorts races to follow as well as training for a Rock n Roll Savannah Marathon, Coach tip for my hot/humid races; "Don't drink more then my thirst indicates." So having a product that allows you to only drink for thirst is genius. I will also say that despite their larger size, they are very easy to either carry in a belt and/or vest. The slimmer design works alot easier for for me in my flipbelt versus the wider size gels.

And last but not least. I had zero stomach issues with these. Again, that is one thing that prevents me from getting to wild with flavors, spices. Everything I eat is mainly plain because I have a very sensitive stomach. No issues during or after the run/race while taking these.


What I didn't like:


While I prefer the runnier consistency as it really makes it go down way easier that way in my opinion. I am not sure if I didn't open a few of them carefully or maybe tried to squeeze them too fast but there were a few times they ended up running down my hand and got a tad messy. And if I could I could make any suggestions to what I felt they were missing. I wish they had a bit more calories then they actually do. Mostly because of the size. I'm a slow runner, so trying to carry enough on me for a long run becomes just a tad difficult with the size.


So would I recommend these bad boys. YES! I really think these will stay a consistent fueling option as I continue training for Ragnar and my fall marathon.


If you would like to try SiS Go Isotonic Energy Gels click here: https://www.scienceinsport.com/us/ and use code: TRYSIS25 and save 25%!!

Happy Running!

-Tia

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page