top of page
  • Writer's pictureTia Hedenland

The North Shore is calling!

"Disclaimer: I received free entry to Grandma's Marathon as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!"


As a MN runner, there are a few key races we have here within the state that are stand-outs. And one of the biggest marathon weekends we have would be Grandma's!! In the past I have ran the half. But this year, I was given the opportunity to run the Full and I couldn't be more excited!


Grandma's Marathon will be my 2nd marathon of the year, and will also be just a few weeks before I run my first 50K. So how does this change my approach/training? As with all of my races leading up to the 50K, everything will essentially be long training runs, Grandma's included. It will be a great weekend to get in a final long run, and also have some fun up north!


Here are a few of the things I am most looking forward to in June:


- Big time race with a small town feel!

- Runners of all abilities come together to run this course. Slower marathoners like myself, all the way to course record setting runners like Kellyn Taylor!

- The course runs also the North Shore. There will be amazing views!

- The post-race entertainment is a blast!!

- Meeting up with fellow runner friends! Because this race is set in MN, I happen to know quite a few people who will also be running/volunteering, as well as friends not too far away traveling in for the weekend!

- The bling! This years medal is gorgeous!


... and while I am not really a pasta eater...its worth noting that on Friday Night, they have an All-You-Can-Eat Spaghetti Dinner that's pretty fantastic!


Prices increase on April 1st! Register here: https://grandmasmarathon.com/ and use code: BIBRAVE10 for $10 off!


Can't wait to see you #upnort


Happy Running!


-Tia

19 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page