top of page
  • Writer's pictureTia Hedenland

Where will your treadmill take you?

"Disclaimer: I received a Zwift Run Pod to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!"


As a mom of 4, a treadmill has been a crucial part of my training for many years. While I understand there are many who choose to run outside and find the "dreadmill" a last resort. For me, its not about whether I would choose to run inside or out. Its more about the limited time frame I have to train each day and the ability to run when its fits in my schedule. Sure, I would rather see beautiful views and enjoy the fresh air when I run. It's just not always an option. So how have I survived my treadmill runs?


Let's start out with the fact I am blessed to have an amazing workout room right inside my home. This is my "mom-cave"! In front of my treadmill I have a TV and often times during my runs I will catch up on Netflix and watch movies. But when I was given the opportunity to test out Zwift, I was intrigued as to how this would change my nightly treadmill runs and if I would miss binge-watching cooking shows.


The Zwift Run Pod is a small device that clips to your laces on your shoe. It connects via Bluetooth to the Zwift platform. It senses your motion as you are running and moves your avatar along the courses based on your speed.





There are two apps that I downloaded while using the Zwift Run Pod. The Zwift app, and the Zwift Companion App. The Zwift app allows me to follow along with the training plan that Zwift sets up for you, run pre-scheduled events or choose my route and run my own distance/pace. The Zwift Companion App, allows me to connect and engage with other Zwifters, schedule meet-ups and check in on my profile/training plan etc.





What did I like about Zwift?

The first thing that I really liked about Zwift is that I no longer felt like I running alone on a treadmill in the basement in my house. Being able to run along the courses, see other runners and cyclists was for sure a plus. You feel a part of the community. With the Zwift Companion app you can follow and connect with other Zwifters. You can choose to join a pre-scheduled event with other runners, or schedule a meet-up of your own with your friends. So while you are technically running on your own treadmill by yourself, you can join 1 or multiple runners to run as a group! From there you can chat with the others and even send a "ride on" to those around you for encouragement!


Living in MN, during the winter months you are stuck to running in the brutal cold and do not always have the most amazing views. Some routes even become off limits in the winter as they are either closed or not safe to run because of the ice. The Zwift app allows you to pick your location, choose your route and head out for views you wouldn't otherwise see. I ran through a volcano, alongside the ocean, and in Central Park. Not too shabby for a MN runner in January!





The benefits of using the app go beyond "running NYC" or "challenging friends to a race". While you are running you see stats you may not have available on your treadmill. It not only shows your pace, but calculates time remaining based on your target goal and current speed, mile splits, offers multiple camera angles to view your avatar and route, map of the course you are running, your run cadence, heart rate and all of the other Zwifters nearby. You can take pictures, change your route, pause your workout, chat and see the elevation changes. It's actually pretty great and really takes your treadmill run up a notch. You have full control over your entire run!


What did I find difficult/challenging?

While the information on their website is great, and fully explains the capabilities of the apps, it doesn't provide a ton of info on how to actually do those things. A few more instructions or "how-to's" would be very beneficial to new Zwifters. Especially as you switch between the two apps. I'm not positive I was able to fully use Zwift to its full capabilities yet.


And then the packaging...when the Run Pod arrived. It came in this super cute orange box. Inside you had the pod, battery and small square quick set up sheet with instructions on how to insert the battery and clip to shoe. I think the instructions are a bit off as I found it very difficult to follow them and actually be able to insert the battery. To me, the instructions should provide step-by-steps of how to get the device set up based on how the product arrives. The one step the instructions do not take into account is the fact you have to twist off the clip before you go to insert the battery. The confusion came in when trying to find where the battery goes without knowing I had had to do that step. The instructions start with the clip not being attached, but that is not how it arrives. Seems simple, but being this was my first Run Pod, I just wasn't sure what all I was looking at at the time I opened it. Nevertheless, I did get it up and running!


So will I keep using the Run Pod? Yes! I have friends across the US, as well as other parts of the world. I would love to do more virtual runs with my long distance friends and get to know other Zwifters. On days I don't have a major training run, it will be great to snap on the pod, open up the Zwift app and go for a run across the country or the other side of the world!


Where will your treadmill take you?


If you want to join me, head over to Zwift.com and use code: BIBRAVE15 to save 15% on a Run Pod!


Happy Zwifting!!


-Tia

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page